Passover is an annual gluten free bonanza. Since chametz - wheat, rye, oats, spelt and barley - is forbidden, there are many seasonal products that are manufactured to meet these dietary laws that are not produced or available the rest of the year. Before you start looking at these once-a-year foods, you need a mini-vocabulary lesson. What does Kosher for Passover mean? It means that the food does not contain leavened or fermented wheat, rye, spelt or barley-- however this does not mean gluten free as matzah - a wheat product - may still be an ingredient. You need to look for "non-grebokts" on the label which literally means “no-broken” and ultimately means no grains of any kind including "broken" matzah.
Right about now your grocery stores may start carrying products for Passover. If they do, be on the lookout for flat egg noodles made with potato starch and clearly labeled "non-grebokts" or macaroon cookies in a variety of flavors (including triple chocolate) or potato starch which can be used as a substitute for corn starch; for more Passover substitutions click here.
For Celiac Jews trying to fullfil the mitzvah/commandment of eating matzah at Passover, we are presented with a whole new challenge. However, there are resources for Kosher matzah made from certified gluten free oats. Contact Karen Bleck at email@example.com or a new source Lakewood matzoh for more information. Be sure to look at our menu suggestions for this month as we have included a gluten free Seder Menu.
- Kristine Ganes