(1-5, 5 being the best)
This teriyaki sauce is wonderful ; not too sweet and just the right essence of garlic, ginger, honey, soy sauce and other savory ingredients.
This product is exactly the same consistency as the wheat variety.
San-J products will store almost indefinitely on the shelf unopened. After opening, refrigerate.
San-J is widely available in natural and conventional grocery stores.
We love this product and are delighted that San-J took the step to convert their sauces and salad dressings to gluten-free.
|Overall Score (5.0)
SAN-J Teriyaki Sauce
San-J International, Inc.
Tamari Soy Sauce (water, soybeans, salt, alcohol) water, organic sugar, honey, sake, (water, rice, salt), apple cider vinegar, garlic puree, rice vinegar, ginger puree, plum juice concentrate, torula yeast, canola oil, spices, arrowroot, xanthan gum.
Certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (www.gfco.org).
San-J has long been a staple in our house and our cars with their wheat-free soy sauce (which is also gluten-free), Organic Wheat-free Tamari. Did I say cars? Yes, San-J also packages their wheat-free soy sauce in single serving packets that are perfect for taking along with you. We keep a few in each of our cars so whenever the mood strikes to eat at a Japanese or sushi restaurant, I always have my own soy sauce to complete the meal. They also require no refrigeration which makes them the perfect travel companion.
At this year’s Natural Foods Expo West in Anaheim, Ca., one of the best surprises was to find that two full lines of San-J products have gone gluten-free! San-J cooking sauces and salad dressings are now all gloriously gluten-free. At the food show, I sampled their teriyaki sauce on a beef teriyaki dish and it was terrific. Actually, I sampled their teriyaki sauce so many times that they finally just gave me a bottle.
The teriyaki sauce, as I now assume is true for all their new gluten-free sauces, is authentic and tastes exactly like their wheat counterparts in that it is not substandard in taste because of substitutions, but rather the elimination of wheat has not altered the exciting flavor of this product.